Saturday 10th December 2016

iChild Childcare (Directory)

Philippa Brown
Registered Childminder in Poole, BH16

As a member of the Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years (PACEY), I am required to meet all the conditions of my registering authority Ofsted. Find out more here.

Childcare Offered:

  • Short Term

    Short Term
  • Long Term

    Long Term
  • Full Time

    Full Time
  • Part Time

    Part Time
  • Before School

    Before School
  • After School

    After School
  • Overnight

    Overnight
Me and My Home
ME AND MY HOME
Show
  • Garden
    Garden
  • Garden with play equipment
    Garden with play equipment
  • Parking
    Parking
  • Have a pet
    Have a pet
  • Guinea Pig
    Guinea Pig
  • Have children of my own
    Have children of my own
  • Close to transport links
    Close to transport links

About me: About me and my setting
I am an accredited and enabled child minder a mature and caring lady who has been registered as a child minder since 2001. At that time, I had also been volunteering at my son’s pre school in Lytchett Matravers and was offered a job there within weeks of first volunteering. From then, until July 2010 I worked part time,both as a child minder before and after school and in the school holidays and as an assistant at the pre school. I was the person responsible for the curriculum planning and, at various times, I was room leader for each of the age ranges within the Pre-School.

I am a qualified teacher with over twenty years’ experience working in Early Years and Primary Education and in 2008 I completed my Early Years Professional Status at Winchester University.
In 2012 I became accredited. This means I can offer up to 15 hours a week of funded childcare for 3 and 4 year olds and eligible 2 year olds.

I work in my own home, a four bed room detached house in Lytchett Matravers, which is a village near Poole in Dorset. My husband, Kevin, a solicitor also works from our home and is registered as my assistant. We have a teenage son, born in 1996.
The children have access to all of the ground floor for child minding purposes but access to the kitchen is limited by the use of a stair gate for reasons of safety. Upstairs, the children have a designated playroom and use of the bathroom.
The children also have direct access to our back garden through the patio doors in the lounge. The back garden has a secure boundary on all sides and there is a side gate on each side of the house, preventing access to the two side passages.
Our home is close to the pre school, primary school, local library and the park.

My child minding setting is open all year round, term time, weekends and holidays. I can offer permanent and temporary contracts, full time and part time, depending of course on the spaces I have available. I have also recently completed a training programme that has given me membership of a network of enabled child minders, supporting children with additional needs.
I am on the Early Years, the Compulsory and the Voluntary sections of the childcare register. I can provide written testimonials, thank you notes and so forth from parents who have been very pleased with the care I have given their children.

My last Ofsted inspection graded my child minding practice as “Good” and I am on THE ADVANCED PLUS (the highest grading possible) phase of the Dorset Quality Improvement Service network of child minders


I offer a wide range of activities in a warm and friendly environment to suit a wide range of ages and based on the observations I have made of the children's interests. Membership of TREATS, the toy library for Dorset, means I can ring the changes when providing toys and activities for the children and select them according to the children's needs. I also drive, so I can take the children out to various activities and events to give them a range of interesting experiences. I belong to the National Trust and English Heritage and I use our membership to introduce the children to the benefits of visiting some of the local places of interest.

My qualifications:

  • Degree
    Degree

qualifications & experience: In addition to those mentioned above and in the general description, I have:
Cert Ed (specialising in Nursery Infant education)
Over 20 years experience teaching in primary schools.
First Aid training
Safeguarding Children (Level 3)
Food Safety in Catering
Common Assessment training
ENCO (Equalities training)
Manual Handling training
Take 5 for Play and Top Start training.
SENCO (Special Educational Needs Coordinator Training)

My Childminding Service
MY CHILDMINDING SERVICE
Show
Additional Services
ADDITIONAL SERVICES
Show
Fees and Charges
FEES AND CHARGES
Show
My Vacancies
MY VACANCIES
Show

Disclaimer
While PACEY has taken all reasonable steps to ensure the suitability of childminders using this service, you should still apply all necessary judgement and checks when choosing someone to care for your child.

Free Activities